Day 9 and 10 – Change of direction?

Now onto day 10 of this power-free No Impact Man style challenge.

I’ve been thinking about whether or not I should write about big topics whilst doing this challenge, as I don’t have a lot of time to do the research I need to do in order to be factual and accurate in my blog. I only have an hour, maybe two hours a day, to check emails and Facebook plus blog. I also have to reply to any important emails that need my attention ASAP. Then I also have to do internet banking.

So my big post on the environmental reasons for going vegan will be postponed until the end of the challenge. I will have my power back on at the beginning of October, therefore, able to research properly and write more cohesive posts at home, and it doesn’t matter if my son is sleeping or not.

Instead, the blog posts for the next 20 or so days will just be reflections on how I am handling the challenge, along with a recipe sprinkled in. I have written out what I will be blogging about from October onwards, and they are great topics, which I hope will ignite some healthy debate. Some of them are:

- Environmental reasons for going vegan
– Ethical reasons for going vegan
– Health reasons for going vegan
– Social justice: the impact of people not being able to access essential public services
– Environmental impact of compact fluorescent light bulbs
– Ways to heat a home efficiently
– Cooking and keeping food cool without electricity
– Vegan nutrition, such as protein, iron, calcium, Vitamin B12, Vitamin D
– Vegan nutrition during pregnancy and breastfeeding
– Vegan nutrition for infants and toddlers
– The Thrive principles by Brendan Brazier, and why I am such a big fan of his nutrition work and research
– and…….. some politics. Election is in November, and parties will start campaigning heavily next month.

There are some other topics I will be writing about, but can’t list them all!!! Along with my journey to my first bodysculpting competition.

However, I did promise in my last post my absolutely fabulous GF pancake recipe. It is sooooo ridiculously easy and cheap to make. One bad thing about GF products (mainly pre-packaged stuff) is that it is hella expensive. This recipe costs less than $1 per serving (which is about 2 to 3 pancakes).

Gluten-free vegan pancakes

1 cup chickpea flour (also known as besan flour, chana flour and garbanzo bean flour)
1/2 cup water (you probably won’t use all of it, but measure out half a cup anyway)
1/4 tsp baking soda
pinch of himalayan or celtic sea salt
Organic virgin coconut oil (for frying)

1. Put chickpea flour in a medium-sized mixing bowl
chickpea flour

2. Add water, a bit at a time. Use a whisk to mix it, so you have a clump free mixture. Add enough water that it is a consistency of pouring custard (only thing I can pull out of my brain that describes how thick the batter should be). After mixing until no clumps, add baking soda. Mix well. Then add salt and mix well again. Great thing with GF flours is that there is no gluten, so no need to worry about making tough pancakes!
GF pancake batter mix

3. Heat up a small pan and add about half a tablespoon of coconut oil. Make sure the pan is well heated before adding batter, or you will end up with kinda flat pancakes. Add enough mixture to the pan to make on pancake. Cook until bubbles like this on the surface and then turn over:
bubbles on pancake
pancake flipped over

4. Repeat step 3 with remainding mixture.

5. Serve on plate with favourite condiments/toppings. The photo below is with organic peanut butter and raspberry jam. I’ve also enjoyed it with sliced fruit and a drizzle of raw agave nectar (or use maple syrup). You can also use as savoury pancakes, as no sugar in batter. For a savoury option, I like to top with wilted cavolo nero (a type of kale, also known as dinosaur kale) and Angel Food Vegan Cheesey Sauce :-)
GF pancake with toppings

Enjoy!!!!!!

Now, I just realised that this is very similar to Socca, however, mine has baking soda, which leavens it. Socca is sans a leavening agent. The baking soda makes them light and fluffy.

Also, don’t be afraid at the amount of coconut oil you are using to cook it with. It adds the right flavour, and I have tried with olive and rice bran oil, but the flavour is a little off. The coconut flavour in organic virgin coconut oil is just right for this. Also, because the fats are medium chained triglycerides, your body uses it as energy straight away rather than storing it. Also, frying it in coconut oil gives it really nice crispy edges :-)

You should get about 3 (maybe 4) good-sized pancakes out of this, and is enough for one person. They are very filling and packed with protein (about 20 to 25g) and a good amount of complex carbohydrates (for sustained energy) and fibre.

It is also super, super cheap to make. I buy my chickpea flour from the Lim Chouur supermarket on K Rd for $3.50 for a 1kg bag. It is the Urja brand. I’ve made about 5 servings, and have about 300 to 400g left in the bag.

Now I am wanting pancakes!!! (even thought I had some straight after devouring a bowl of Chia Beasty Brekky this morning).

Now, one last thing, how has my weight been affected? I’ve been tracking what I eat on a piece of software called Cron-O-Meter. My calorie intake has actually gone up, and even with my increased activity level, I should be gaining weight. However, my intake of coconut oil have increased dramatically over the past couple of weeks. I have at least 1 tablespoon of it in my food each day. I’ve been reading up on how it helps to increase you metabolism, so I can see why!! Also, increase in calories is also coming from the coconut oil. The first week, I lost 1.3kg. Over the past 3 days, have lost another 0.6kg.

Hope you liked this post, and please comment :-)

9 responses to “Day 9 and 10 – Change of direction?

  1. you must be psychic! i was just thinking about vegan pancakes 3 or 4 days ago! will be round to the indian shop asap!!
    loving your blog denise xx

  2. Good call to leave the big issues ’til next month! And yum, pancakes :-)

  3. Noticed and appreciated, thanks v muchly!

  4. Totally making these for the wee one tomorrow…if only I had some NZ Marmite to spread on them. ;)

  5. Pingback: Melted Cheese For The Win | Heather Eats Almond Butter

Leave a Reply

