Part two – Direction and focus

Last night, after finally finishing the blog post about the end of the challenge, I decided to do a mind map of where I want to take this blog, but more importantly, what direction I should take career wise.

I have so many interests that I need to make a kinda clear decision I want to do. A friend of mine recommend a book called Refuse To Choose by Barbara Sher, so I will be locating a copy in the library or ordering off Amazon. There are a couple of things I am definitely going to do and that is:

- Enter my very first bodysculpting/bodybuilding competition in May 2012. I’ve been researching all of the different federations in NZ, but will make a decision around March/April which federation I will go for, depending on how hard and lean I end up looking. All the federations appear to have their Auckland competitions in May, and would love to place in the top 3 in the category I will be competing in. I’m not going for the physique or figure look but still want to show a fair amount of muscle tone and definition.

- Find a job! I need to find a job asap, and something that I will enjoy doing until my mind decides what it wants to do and I have completed some further study at university. I would really like to study environmental management; the idea of having some sort of positive influence on how cities and towns manage environmental issues fascinates me.

- I have this crazy, crazy, crazy dream of also doing fitness modelling and proving to the world that being vegan does not equal looking weak and feeling lethargic. All of the interviews in fitness magazines in NZ with fitness models/athletes seems to revolve around eating chicken breast and drinking whey protein shakes. It would be great to see an interview with a vegan fitness model/athlete talking about quinoa, lentils, tempeh and having smoothies made from rice protein :-) And to also talk about grim realities of agriculture, plus the health benefits of being vegan.

- I also want to write a book and find a publisher to publish it on vegan nutrition. I know there are many books out there at the moment, but the idea I have will make it different from the rest. I have done study at university on nutrition, and I feel I would need to do a little more, specifically on sports nutrition and plant-based nutrition (such as the online course through eCornell).

So, my two main goals at the moment is to find suitable employment and start training for this bodysculpting competition. I need to be even more aggressive with finding work now and hope something comes up very soon. As for bodysculpting, I need to get my nutrition and training plan sorted asap.

I have to share this photo I took of the scrumptious tofu scramble with roasted asparagus I made the other night (which was posted on my Facebook page):
tofu scramble

It was absolutely divine and I have also finally perfected my tofu scramble. It had a block of Tonzu organic tofu, grated organic carrot, chopped broccoli, grated courgette, nutritional yeast, garlic powder, onion powder and some Braggs/tamari. All fried in a little coconut oil.

So here is the actual recipe and instructions for it, as a friend on Facebook requested it:

- 1 block of Tonzu organic tofu (this tofu seems to make the best tofu scramble. For non-NZ readers, this type is like firm tofu)
- 1 large carrot, grated
- 1 large courgette, grated
- Half of a red onion, finely chopped
- 1 to 1.5 cups of broccoli, finely chopped
- 1 to 1.5 tbsp of nutritional yeast
- 1 tsp garlic powder
- 1 tsp onion powder (do not use onion stock powder!!! far, far too salty. In Auckland, Fruit World sell packets of onion powder for $2)
- Braggs/tamari – hard to say how much, to your taste I suppose. I have a spray bottle with Braggs in it and probably put about 5 to 6 sprays into it.
- 1 tbsp organic virgin coconut oil, for frying
- 2 tsp of raw agave nectar (optional)

1. Prepare the veges by grating carrot and courgette into a bowl. Finely chop onion and broccoli and add to bowl. Set aside.

2. Heat oil in a medium sized pan on medium heat. When heated enough, crumble tofu, with hands, into pan. Using a wooden spoon, break up large pieces if tofu into smaller pieces. You don’t want the pieces to be tiny but small. Fry for a couple of minutes, taking care not to dry out.

3. Add nutritional yeast and stir. Cook for a minute, while stirring. Add garlic powder and stir. Add onion powder and stir. Cook for 1 to 2 minutes, taking care not to burn the garlic powder (there should be enough moisture in the pan to ensure this doesn’t happen.

4. Add grated and chopped vegetables to the pan. Add Braggs/tamari to taste and stir. Cook for 4 to 5 minutes and add extra Braggs/tamari if needed. Do not overcook, or else the broccoli will look and taste bad. 4 to 5 minutes should be sufficient time for the veges to cook. If you like it a bit sweeter, add the agave nectar, but the sweetness from the red onion and carrot should be sufficient.

5. Serve with other veges of your choice, such as roasted asparagus or baked potato. If doing this for breakfast, I like to toast a couple of bits of GF bread and put the scramble on top.

Enjoy :-)

2 responses to “Part two – Direction and focus

  1. Did you do a nutrition degree? I’m just finishing my HlthSci degree and have to elect a direction for postgrad, basically nutrition, dietetics or psych. I think I need that ‘refuse to choose’ book too.. I mean, it’s only taken me nine years to finish my degree (changed my mind three times as regards degree and major), maybe I’ll take another 9 years and just do everything?

    • I’ve pretty much done the major requirements for nutrition at Massey, however, my degree is in International Relations! I have a bit more experience in maternal and paediatric nutrition due to the type of study I did last year and the work I have done in breastfeeding counselling.

      Hehe, I would do everything :-) I’ve lost count the amount of types I’ve changed majors and degrees since I started studying in 2003. I really want to finish my law degree, but then I would love to do medicine and work in the field of paediatrics and/or endocrinology. I also have this desire to study environmental management and have some sort of input into on the environmental effects when town planning. I also want to write a book on maternal and paediatric vegan nutrition. I need to make up my mind!

Leave a Reply

