Day 3 – photos!!!

Three days without electricity. Wow, the withdrawal symptoms seem to reaching their peak. I noticed the carpet needed to be vacuumed, but alas, no power. So I had to use a broom to sweep all of the bits off the carpet. I am not looking forward to the amount of dirt I will have to vacuum out of the carpet at the end of the month.

Even though I am only at day three, I thought I would already be eating lots of raw food. Wrong. But the food I have cooked is extremely delish and full of nutrients.

Breakfast today was this:

Breakfast!!!!

Up close :-D

Organic wholegrain oats, cooked in water with a pinch of himilayan salt. Topped with a organic virgin coconut oil, tahini, strawberry jam, chia seeds, sesame seeds and coconut chips.

Morning tea was two golden kiwifruit.

Lunch, however, was epic:

Lunch!!!!

Lunch up close :-D

A stir-fry of broccoli, courgettes, carrots, bok choy, garlic. Topped with sauteed tofu that was marinated in Braggs and a touch of sesame oil. The sauce through it was made with Braggs, tahini and orange juice. Topped with sesame seeds and coconut chips.

You maybe wondering why I have use sesame seeds and coconuts in my meals (and tahini). The tahini and sesame seeds provide a good amount of calcium and iron, along with some protein. The fat in coconut is made of medium chained triglycerides. The great thing with MCTs is that you body uses it straight away as energy rather than storing it. Coconut is also anti-viral and anti-fungal and helps to nourish the skin. Using coconut chips or shredded coconut also provides a little extra fibre.

I also have chia seeds once a day for Omega 3 fatty acids, and they are also great for regulating blood sugar levels. They absorb 30 times their weight in water, so help you stay full and control the release of sugars into the bloodstream. They are also a good source of fibre, and 2 tablespoons also provides between 5 to 6 grams of protein.

I’ve already noticed a 0.5kg drop in weight over the past 3 days, simply because I am having to think more about what I am going to eat. I’m already slim, so not wanting to lose much weight, but with my goal of commpeting in a bodysculpting competition on May next year, I need to get my body fat percentage down and start working on building some muscle. This challenge will force me to eat ‘clean’ and reduce the amount of junk food I can sometimes eat (Sweet Williams dairy free white chocolate is a weakness of mine, along with Red Bull). I do generally eat a very healthy vegan diet, but sometimes I do give into vegan temptation (such as a Combustion Tofu burger from Burger Fuel. Nom).

Feel free to comment 🙂

Leave a Reply

