Day 5 – Rugby World Cup apathy

Only 2 days away from doing this challenge a week, and it is amazing the daily routine I have got myself into already. Wake up, meditate, cook/make breakfast, wash dishes, wash clothes, bathe, sweep floor, make lunch, go to library and charge up laptop and/or cellphone, go for a long walk, make dinner, put my son to bed, then go on Facebook for an hour (as laptop battery also lasts an hour).

Today is also the official start of the Rugby World Cup. And the library is awfully quiet at the moment, as everyone is in town for the opening ceremony. However, I will not be heading into the CBD to be amongst a bunch of people celebrating a bunch of guys throw a rugby ball to each other. Instead, I will be sticking to the routine I have established.

Speaking of sport, although I am not particulary fond of rugby, I am fond of cricket and that it will be cricket season very soon. Which means going to ODIs and test matches over the summer. Which means hanging out with a old high school friend. For the past 4 to 5 years, we haven’t been to a cricket match together, even though it was a ritual of ours before that to attend at least one ODI together. Back in the day, I had a major crush on Daniel Vettori 😛

I’ve been re-reading the book Thrive by Brendan Brazier, reinforcing what I have learnt from it, but also learning something new. I kinda consider it a nutrition bible for people who are very active in sports (such as triathlons or bodysculpting), and each time I read it, the more I want to go high raw. That is a working progress, and with the challenge, I thought I would be eating more salads. However, keeping salad greens fresh requires a refridgerator and electricity. My consumption of fresh fruit has increased and my reliance on refined carbs is decreasing already.

Reducing my reliance on refined carbs is good for me, as I also need to go gluten free. I am gluten sensitive, and eating more than 2 pieces of bread a day gives me digestive troubles. I also have Aspergers, and gluten is like crack to an Aspie. I find I cannot gather my thoughts in a coherent manner and my ‘ticks’ such lack of eye contact with other people and having to do something with my hands becomes more apparent. I keep on saying to myself that today is the last day I will have gluten. So far, 2 days without gluten. No withdrawal symptoms yet, however I am not sure if the oats I eat are a good idea. They contain a protein very similar to gluten called avenin, which can cause problems for people who have coeliacs. I don’t have coeliacs (well I don’t think I have), and I don’t get the digestive problems that I get with wheat gluten when I consume it.

As for oats, I had the same Oaty beasty breakfast that I had on Day 3. I replaced the strawberry jam with raspberry jam, and it tastes sooo much better. My recipe for this breakfast, which like the Chia brekky, keeps you full till lunch time:

Oaty beast brekky

1 cup organic wholegrain oats
2.5 cups water
0.5 tsp himilayan salt
1 tbsp organic virgin coconut oil
1 to 2 tbsp organic unhulled tahini
1 to 2 tbsp chia seeds
1 to 2 tbsp jam of choice (or replace with sliced fruit)
1 tbsp sesame seeds
2 tbsp coconut chips or shredded coconut

Cook oats, water and salt together until desired consistency. Top with coconut oil, tahini, chia, jam (or fruit), sesame seeds and coconut. Eat and enjoy 🙂

Lunch today was another stir-fry. Broccoli, beans, carrot and bok choy. With a sauce made of tahini, Braggs and orange juice. Topped with sesame seeds and coconut chips.

stir fry

stir fry up close

That is all for today. I’ll be posting tomorrow, but Sundays will be post-free days 🙂

3 responses to “Day 5 – Rugby World Cup apathy

  1. Can I come and live with you? I can;t IMAGINE making a breakfast that would mean I didn’t have to eat until 2pm. But I think fat people have a different ‘full guage’ or something…….sigh…..

    I’ll keep working on it.

Leave a Reply

