Day 6 – Shopping at a food co-op

Day 6 of the challenge. Tomorrow it will be a week. Already use to the lack of power, but also puts into persepctive how people do not have the luxury of a constant power supply.

This post is going to be short, as I got to the library late, so apologies. As it is a post-free day tomorrow, I will make up for it on Monday 🙂

Today was the monthly shop at the local food co-op. They sell organic bulk food at wholesale prices plus 10% to cover overhead costs. This is my second month using the food co-op, and I love it already. I will officially joining it next month, after the mofo of power bills has been paid off. I’ve been using a friend’s account to purchase items. Food that was brought today included (all organic): almonds, raisins, lentils, linseeds, peanut butter, tahini, virgin coconut oil, soy milk, canned tomatoes and tomato paste. Next month will be a bit more, as the co-op also has Ecostore cleaning products in bulk along with Safe recycled toilet paper. They also had karengo fronds this month, so will some next month (as I don’t think they went through all of the stock).

I also experimented with making gluten-free vegan pancakes today. It was the most simple recipe, and they were light and fluffy. I put peanut butter and jam on top, and had that for lunch. Breakfast was a Chia Beasty Brekky. Dinner tonight is good ol’ stir-fry. I will post recipes and photos of the GF pancakes on Monday.

Monday’s post will explore the environmental advantages of living a vegan lifestyle, and hopefully I will have the figures about the CO2 output of a butane gas canister.

I also have a mammoth pile of washing to handwash tomorrow. Yay. Probably doesn’t help that most of it is bed linen and towels 😛

Leave a Reply

